Author Topic: Engine Swaps - out of excuses  (Read 8112 times)

Offline Der Bugmeister

• Der Bugmeister's Aircooled Place
Engine Swaps - out of excuses
« on: May 05, 2017, 02:36:57 PM »
I've been kinda dragging my heels getting started on this project, finding other things to do instead.  But, I want to drive and enjoy my new '70 Cutlass this summer, and it needs the anemic 260 replaced with a stronger 350.  The engines are both in complete, running cars and need to be swapped so I wind up with two complete, running cars.  So basically two engine (and transmission) swaps.  The fun part is that I've never done this before.  I'll post up some blow by blow, disaster by disaster photos as previously requested and fully expected, of course!

Transmissions are getting swapped as well.  The one I want in the '70 has a shift kit already installed and working.  Engines and transmissions will be removed separately.

The "subject" cars can be seen in the photos in this thread.  The grey 1970 Cutlass will be receiving the Olds 350 currently sitting in the tan 1972 Cutlass.  http://www.thegaragegazette.com/index.php?topic=19250.msg430206#msg430206

In the process of the swap I hope to paint the 350, replace a few small parts, install NOS Holley valve covers, replace some seals on the trans and clean up the '70's engine bay.

Wish me luck, I'm gonna need it!

Offline fatfillup

• numbnuts
  • Spins ratchet
Re: Engine Swaps - out of excuses
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2017, 02:58:44 PM »
Should have stuck to the Bugs,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,motor out in 20 minutes :))

You will do just fine.  Take your time, take lots of pics, have a bottle of Jafe Juice on hand and get after it. 

If the Fatman and Little Buddy can pull a motor out of a fork lift and stick it back in, you can do the swaps.
That scalloped box end is one of the few BB features that doesn't make Elroy puke

Offline Uncle Buck

• Site Owner/ Founding Spammer
  • Administrator
  • Knows nut from bolt