Author Topic: Air Compressor once over?  (Read 7244 times)

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Air Compressor once over?
« on: October 13, 2014, 02:31:57 PM »
Been a tough last few months. Trashed my shoulder on the 4th of July. Was doing good and trying to catch up on projects and Mom had a stroke. Dad has Alzheimer's and needs attention 24/7. So I've been getting only an hour here or there in the shop. One day my air hose died of old age. (my bad for even using it) The compressor was running trying to keep up for an hour or so before I stopped it. I put a fan pointed towards it and ran the compressor because it smelled hot. I figured running it every few minutes might be better than a hot soak?

Anyway still could be days before I pull it out of its closet. What should I look for? Seems to have grease dripping coming down from the head unit. Never noticed that before.
If it checks out o.k. I will add a cooler of some sort. But that's for later. Detailed pictures as I go. Whenever that might be.

Input welcome thumbsup2 
cursed with an eye for potential

Online lauver

  • King of Refurb's
  • Knows what a screwdriver is
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 6747
  • Location: Belton, TX
  • PROTO BetR-Grip Whore
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 11:44:23 PM »
nonhog,

We are ready when you are  sharepopcorn sharepopcorn sharepopcorn
Member of PHARTS -  Perfect Handle Admiration, Restoration and Torturing Society

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 02:27:21 PM »
Whenever that might be.


As far as I've got. Looks like a seal or gasket is seeping pretty good. Have to figure out a puller and get that pulley off. Might see if I can bore scope inside to see how it looks.
Bit of rust in water seperator. 
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 03:39:20 PM »
Have to figure out a puller and get that pulley off. 

Pulley looks fragil. Ideas? Take it in and have a shop handle it? Its from late 80's/ early 90's because I bought it from Pay N Pak (RIP 1992).
I always want to do everything myself but sometimes life gets in the way and things take forever.

 

What y'all think?
 
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline Uncle Buck

  • Site Owner/ Founding Spammer
  • Administrator
  • Knows nut from bolt
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 13399
  • Location: Kansas-Flyover Country!
  • The name of my small shop is the Skunkworks!
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2014, 03:52:38 PM »
Have to figure out a puller and get that pulley off. 

Pulley looks fragil. Ideas? Take it in and have a shop handle it? Its from late 80's/ early 90's because I bought it from Pay N Pak (RIP 1992).
I always want to do everything myself but sometimes life gets in the way and things take forever.

What y'all think?

I would do everything I could to keep from having to take that to someone else, but that is just me. I have one idea, but honestly I do not know if it would work. That pulley looks like an aluminum casting to me. I would drill holes in the material in that center web that were 180 degrees opposed to each other then tap them. I would also use nuts and the biggest flat washers I could fit in the web over the holes on both the front and back sides of the pulley to hopefully prevent breaking the casting right there. Then I would use a bar type puller and put my center screw on the end of the shaft and try to push the pulley off of the shaft that way.

Not knowing the material thickness and what that part looks like in person mine is only a guess as to a possible answer. The thickness of material between the center web there would be the single most important factor in determining if my idea would work. Well, that and how tight a fit the shaft is to the bore of that pulley would also play into it.

Good luck, that is the best and only thing I have for you.
You boys better hold on cause i'm gonna have to stand on it!

NEED A 1/2" BONNEY STREAMLINE COMBINATION AND ANY OVER 13/16" TOO!



Andrew Jackson quote: But you must remember, my fellow-citizens, that eternal vigilance by the people is the price of liberty, and that you must pay the price if you wish to secure the blessing.

Offline angrystroker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 15
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2014, 11:19:04 PM »
Have you looked for a set screw, I see a key and could use a slide hammer to move it.

http://www.amazon.com/4579-9-Way-Slide-Hammer-Puller/dp/B0015DMNIS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1418357672&sr=8-1&keywords=slide+hammer

PetBoys rents them here where I live, maybe the same in your hood, if you have the store.

Online Matt_T

  • Team IDIOT
  • Super Hero
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 3407
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2014, 11:28:00 PM »
Pulley looks fragil. Ideas?

First check for the presence of loctite. If it's been loctited you'll have to use heat to break the bond. Gentle heat might work even if there's no loctite. The aluminium pulley will expand faster than the steel shaft.

If heat doesn't work a bar puller chained to the blades might.

Offline jabberwoki

  • Doooh missed out
  • Knows what a screwdriver is
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 5935
  • Location: puyallup
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2014, 01:21:40 AM »
I`ve got a butt load of different pullers if you need them mate.
There is a very fine line between a hobby and a mental illness.

Does the need justify the want ? Or does the want suffice?

Offline Uncle Buck

  • Site Owner/ Founding Spammer
  • Administrator
  • Knows nut from bolt
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 13399
  • Location: Kansas-Flyover Country!
  • The name of my small shop is the Skunkworks!
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2014, 04:06:06 AM »
Another thought. If there is room between the back side of the pulley and the face of the pump a bearing splitter might also be worth consideration.
You boys better hold on cause i'm gonna have to stand on it!

NEED A 1/2" BONNEY STREAMLINE COMBINATION AND ANY OVER 13/16" TOO!



Andrew Jackson quote: But you must remember, my fellow-citizens, that eternal vigilance by the people is the price of liberty, and that you must pay the price if you wish to secure the blessing.

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2014, 01:09:57 AM »
I`ve got a butt load of different pullers if you need them mate.

That would be great! I'll check my PM's for your #. New phone doesn't have it. I'll try again to find Victoria beer.  beerdude
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline FuzzFace2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 179
  • Location: Angier, N.C.
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2014, 10:00:33 PM »
Sorry to hear about the long running of the compressor that is 1 reason I always cut the power to it. Something dad always had me do as a kid on ours at home & shop when we had it.

You may want to look into replacing the valves if it got hot as I think they would lose some flex after all that.
Dave ----
Jack (not my real name) of all trades, Master of none!
http://cars.grantskingdom.com/index.php/70-Javelin-Mark-Donohue

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2014, 11:32:25 PM »
Decided (with the help of a friend, Thanks Jabber) I would leave well enough alone. Putting it back together and hoping to get a couple more years out of the old dog.
Did get some headway on the lines. Also got a Motor Guard filter today. Which was odd, as it has no tabs or bosses in which to attach to the wall. I'll make something.
Next (beside finishing air lines) I have to decide if I can redo my Sears (also late 80's ish) regulator or buy a new one. Funds are short so I'll tear into it and see what happens.

cursed with an eye for potential

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2015, 04:10:26 PM »
Now I am scratching my head and thinking  headscratch.......... what fittings would be best to attach an air hose from compressor to air lines. I have the heavy Gates hose but its male threads on both ends and would require adaptors to a compression fitting or some such thing. I think more studying at the hardware store is due. Ideas welcome.

This could be useful, http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200625242_200625242?cm_mmc=Google-pla-_-Air%20Tools%20%2B%20Compressors-_-Air%20Compressor%20Piping%20Accessories-_-37574&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=37574&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=37574&gclid=CJes6Jvn38MCFYVhfgodD0cAIw just hate waiting for parts to ship when I'm in the mood to finish something. < That is not all the time   ;D
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline pepi

  • Super Hero
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 2961
  • Location: Earth I think:reading the news I have doubts
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2015, 06:19:24 PM »
I use a short hose like the one in the link, have a ball valve on the compressor then the flexible hose.
Self-esteem: Does not make up for a lack of common sense. There is such a thing as a stupid question.

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2015, 11:33:37 AM »
Had one made local. 40,something? Worth it. Need to keep cleaning shop so I can get to adding the final fittings and filters etc. 
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline OldnSlo

  • Super Hero
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 2530
  • Location: Arid-zona
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2015, 05:25:40 PM »
Looks like that compressor is nicely snugged away in it's corner. Is it getting enough circulation?

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2015, 10:44:34 PM »
Looks like that compressor is nicely snugged away in it's corner. Is it getting enough circulation?

I ask myself that question. It is open on the underside to the left and the heat can travel up the staircase also. At this point I have no door for the opening but plan to. If I were to run it a bunch I'd leave the door open.
Might add an exhaust fan to help circulate. 
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2015, 09:01:24 PM »
Now which first? MotorGuard or desiccant dryer?
These will be at the end of my 40-50' of copper tube. I'll probably skip these for the air reel and use them for the paint hose and plasma (when I get one)
Thoughts?   
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline brslk

  • Can use hammer
  • *********
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 9736
  • Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.
  • Lackey and general stooge.
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2015, 10:48:07 PM »
Filter before dryer.
I'm just a guy in a garage with some tools...

Bruce.

Offline TWX

  • Hunt and peck king
  • ********
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 3819
  • Location: The Blast Furnace
  • Voids Warranties
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2015, 03:06:46 AM »
Now I am scratching my head and thinking  headscratch.......... what fittings would be best to attach an air hose from compressor to air lines. I have the heavy Gates hose but its male threads on both ends and would require adaptors to a compression fitting or some such thing. I think more studying at the hardware store is due. Ideas welcome.

This could be useful, http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200625242_200625242?cm_mmc=Google-pla-_-Air%20Tools%20%2B%20Compressors-_-Air%20Compressor%20Piping%20Accessories-_-37574&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=37574&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=37574&gclid=CJes6Jvn38MCFYVhfgodD0cAIw just hate waiting for parts to ship when I'm in the mood to finish something. < That is not all the time   ;D


I soldered female ends to the drops I added to the main run, but if I did it over again I'd use straight copper tubing and a compression fitting.

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2015, 04:08:48 PM »
Thanks for the replys. I now have air in the shop again. only a small whistle at the regulator. Might wait till I tackle the filter/dryer set up.
Then I add my Rapid Air for a couple more drops.
Less tripping on air hose in my future!
« Last Edit: March 30, 2015, 04:12:54 PM by nonhog »
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2015, 06:01:25 PM »
So far so good. Just adding the copper pipe its pretty dang dry. In fact plenty of wire wheeling the floor of a project car caused no spitting or dripping of any kind. Very happy.
May just paint something this summer. :)

 
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline Xicaque

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 7
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #22 on: August 02, 2015, 11:18:37 AM »
Looks like that compressor is nicely snugged away in it's corner. Is it getting enough circulation?

I ask myself that question. It is open on the underside to the left and the heat can travel up the staircase also. At this point I have no door for the opening but plan to. If I were to run it a bunch I'd leave the door open.
Might add an exhaust fan to help circulate.

This!!!! I was going to comment on the cooling of the unit. OP, you have a nice shop from what I can see in the pictures. Your compressor seems to have no way to be cooled from ambient circulation (at least from what I can see in the pics). If I were you, I would ensure that the unit has enough room around it to stay cool. As for the rust on the water, a bit too late perhaps... When I bought my Quincy 80 gal, I poured linseed oil in the tank via the drain pipe at the bottom of the tank. Sloshed it around for a bit and then drained it. I also added an auto drain valve. My previous compressor, a CH 30 gal and loud! Lasted me about 15 yrs until the tank developed a pinhole leak. The Quincy will be the last compressor I buy until my death. I do not like rust and with the lindseed and auto drain, the water coming out is clear as drinking water after being in use for over 12 months. I plan on adding an aftercooler but right now that project is on hold.

Keep that unit cool as much as you can. Cheers!

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2015, 04:16:33 PM »
Looks worse than it is. Its tight and probably far from ideal. However there is room for heat to travel up (not visible in pics) and.......... behind the plastic is a staircase landing that is open and since there is no door (yet) I think its o.k. I will add some vents that I can open close as in the winter I hang that plastic since that part of the shop is insulated nor heated.

I'll snap a pic or two soon. Thanks for the reply!   
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2016, 11:01:06 PM »
Well I admit defeat. Its just too tight a space to not heat up in that little closet. Spitting water when taxed very hard. Can't trust that with my cheapo plasma cutter. I drug home a 80 gallon Lowes compressor that needs a capacitor (at minimum). I will place it in my 3rd bay with ample circulation. Might be a bit before that can happen. Lots on my plate.
I will post pics as it happens and report back.

   
cursed with an eye for potential

Offline TWX

  • Hunt and peck king
  • ********
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 3819
  • Location: The Blast Furnace
  • Voids Warranties
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2016, 11:34:43 AM »
Does it freeze much where you live?

I'd install the compressor outdoors if possible without annoying the hell out of your neighbors.

My shack is rather *ahem* elaborate.  Dad's is a bit simpler.  He built four sides that sit around the compressor pump at that height.  Top and bottom around the tank are open.  We're still planning on building a heat exchanger so that the hot air from the pump is cooled before it goes into the tank, similar to the one I'm going to build for mine.

Another option is to add some ventilation to your existing location.  I had to replace some HVAC and I kept many of the parts.  I have a 240V low-amp squirrelcage out of an air handler installed in my air compressor shack to vent the shack out to the outside, wired in so when the pump runs the fan runs.  If you add air circulation to that closet, an ingress port and egress with a powerful fan, it might be enough.

Offline nonhog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 417
  • Location: Tacoma ish
Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2016, 06:00:23 PM »
Thanks, good ideas.
cursed with an eye for potential

The Garage Gazette

Re: Air Compressor once over?
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2016, 06:00:23 PM »